What is Permanent Tissue

·         Permanent Tissue (Mature cells incapable of division)

§  Are tissues that have temporarily or permanently lost the power to divide

§  The cells formed by the apical meristem are differentiated into different types of permanent tissues 

·         Based on the constituent cells, the permanent tissue is classified into two types: –

§  Simple tissue

§  Tissues made up of cells with similar structure and function

§  Classified into;

·         Parenchyma,

·         Collenchyma and

·         Sclerenchyma

§  Complex tissue

§  A tissue made up of several kinds of cells but all of them function together as a single unit

§  Classified into;

·         Xylem tissue

o   Xylem (Greek word ‘xylos’= wood)

o   Xylem is made up of four kinds of cells

§  Tracheids

§  Vessels or tracheae,

§  Xylem fibres and

§  Xylem parenchyma

·         Phloem tissues

o   Phloem is composed of four types of cells:

§  Sieve elements,

§  Companion cells,

§  Phloem parenchyma and

§  Phloem fibres

·         Companion cells are present only in angiosperms

References Evans, W. C. (2009). Trease and Evans Pharmacognosy. India: Reed Elsevier Limited
Expert in Digital Marketing, Content Creator, and Website Developer.
%d bloggers like this: